Why *nix is so much better

Because in a fancy file explorer, it actually takes twice as long to do this:

mv `ls -laF | awk '/.*\*$/ { print $8 }'` conf/

🙂

  1. #1 by Adrian on November 18, 2008 - 9:09 am

    Overall, I have to agree but, how many iterations of that command line did you have to go through?

  2. #2 by loggerheadz on November 23, 2008 - 12:43 am

    Yeah a couple, but once I’v figured it out, I can bung it in one my .bash_* files or make a custom script out of it and reuse it. Once I’ve built up a library of useful commands, I can wrap it up and reuse it – so by the time I’m posting this, I can type in `mv_f .* conf` and it just works.

    Besides, bash doesn’t have a habit of locking up while I’m in the middle of file operations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

